News from The Prairie Club

Scroll Down to Read The Latest from Cherry County
June 2, 2016

2015 Jackrabbit Invitational Champion Aaron Wise, Wins 2016 NCAA Individual Title

by ThePrairieClubNo Comments or Reactions


University of Oregon sophomore Aaron Wise won the individual NCAA golf championship with a 1-over 71 on Monday. Wise is no stranger to winning tournaments, or to The Prairie Club. Wise won The Jackrabbit tournament at the Club last September with a 7-under round of 209.

Wise birdied half of his first eight holes Monday, but paired with two bogeys sent him into the back nine at two under par. Double bogeys on holes 12 and 16 put Wise’s tournament in jeopardy, but Wise responded with a birdie-par finish to end up with a 71.

Wise finished the tournament with his highest score, ending with a four-day total of 275 (70-70-64-71). Wise edged out Southern California’s Rico Hoey by just two strokes.

The win at the Club was Wise’s third individual medalist honors, but that number has since grown to five. A decorated player, Wise has earned Pac-12 Golfer of the Month and DI PING All-Region West Team honors. The national champion was also named to the Pac-12 All-Academic team.

Wise added another title to his golf resume Wednesday: team champion. The Oregon Ducks defeated Texas Longhorns in the NCAA men’s golf championship when Oregon’s Sulman Raza sank a 7-foot birdie on the third-extra hole to prevail as national champions.

South Florida won last year’s Jackrabbit at the Club, followed by Arizona State, University of Oregon, and Texas A&M. South Florida shot an impressive team score of 846 (295-275-276), or 18-under par for three rounds.

The Jackrabbit 2016 returns to the Club September 23 through September 27. The tournament includes an opportunity for amateurs golfers to play with great collegiate athletes. The Club will once again host an elite field of student-athletes featuring some of the top teams in the country, including Clemson, Tennessee, Missouri, and more.

The event’s namesake – the South Dakota State University Jackrabbits – will return as first-ever Summit League Champions, a championship they won in May. Two SDSU student-athletes finished in the top ten at last year’s Jackrabbit. Trevor Tobin, who finished tied for third, and Grant Smith, who finished tied for fifth, both return as seniors.


Comments are closed.